Skip to content

My Shepherd

June 27, 2014

.

Post 2011 12 13 Shepherd 6

My Shepherd

It is good  and right  for God’s children  to always recognize  that they are  in God’s tender care.     We certainly do  go through  all sorts  of trials  and times when we’re afraid,  or just plain weary.     But,  as we keep on trusting  the LORD,  He is always  caring for us  and leading us  through this life.

When Jacob,  whose name was changed  to Israel,  was about  to die  and was blessing his children  and grandchildren, he referred  to God  in Genesis 48:15  as,

The God  who has been my shepherd  all my life  to this day.

When a person reads  about Jacob’s life  in the book  of Genesis,  it’s obvious  that God was always tenderly caring  for him  and leading him.     It was right  and good  that Jacob  openly confessed this  and glorified God,  instead of his own strength.

King David was another man  of faith,  who acknowledged  the LORD  as his shepherd.     David wrote the famous Psalm 23,  saying,

The LORD is my shepherd,
I shall not want.
He makes me  lie down  in green pastures;
He leads me  beside quiet waters,
He restores  my soul;
He guides me  in the paths  of righteousness
For His name’s sake.

Even though I walk  through the valley  of the shadow  of death,
I fear no evil;  for You are with me;
Your rod  and Your staff,  they comfort me.
You prepare a table  before me  in the presence  of my enemies;
You have anointed  my head  with oil;
My cup overflows.
Surely goodness  and lovingkindness  will follow me  all the days  of my life,
And I will dwell  in the house  of the LORD  forever.

Psalm 23 poetically  glorifies God’s loving care  in all sorts  of situations  throughout our lives.     These words  were true  for David  and are true  for every single person  who looks  to the LORD  for guidance,  protection,  and care.     To reassure every single one  of us  of His eternal care,  Jesus  told His followers  in John 10:14-16,

I am the good shepherd;  and I know My own,  and My own know Me,  even as the Father knows Me  and I know the Father;  and I lay down My life  for the sheep.    

And  I have other sheep,  which are not  of this fold;  I must bring them also,  and they shall hear My voice;  and they shall become  one flock  with one shepherd.

Jesus is our Lord,  our good shepherd.     Jesus’  “other sheep,  which are not  of this fold,”  refers to Christians  from every nation.     Let us study  God’s word  and all   that has happened  in our lives  to gently  bring us  to a true faith  in Christ Jesus.     There we see  through years  of history  God’s desire  to bring all of us  to eternal salvation,  as we look  to Him  as our  “good shepherd”.

We don’t run away  from our  “shepherd”.     Rather,  we continually look  to Him  for our well being.

As we let Him  restore our souls,  we say,  “Hallelujah!     Lord Jesus,  thank You  for being our good shepherd.”

Love,
Margaret

.

A Christian devotional  to glorify  the LORD of lords  and GOD of gods.

A 2.67 year old says  I Pledge Allegiance

Pray for our country.

.

Handel’s Hallelujah Chorus

**************

Handel’s Hallelujah Chorus by the Yupiq Eskimo village of Quinhagak, Alaska

.

.

.

The LORD  made this day, let us rejoice  and be glad  in Him.

Psalm 118:24

.

The word of the LORD is tried;

He is a shield  to all  who take refuge  in Him.

Psalm 18:30

.

Sing for joy  in the LORD,  O you righteous ones;

Praise is becoming  to the upright.

Psalm 33:1

.

How blessed are those  who dwell  in Thy house!

They are ever praising Thee.

Psalm 84:4

.

Just as a father  has compassion  on his children,

So the LORD  has compassion  on those who fear Him.

Psalm 103:13

.

O give thanks  to the LORD,  for He is good;

For His lovingkindness  is everlasting.

Psalm 107:1

.

Glory in His holy name;

Let the heart  of those who seek the LORD  be glad.

Psalm 105:3

.

**************

.

.

.

Not that I have already obtained it,  or have already  become perfect, but I press on  in order that  I may  lay hold  of that for which also  I was laid hold of  by Christ Jesus.

Philippians 3:12

.

.

.

…………

.

.

.

.

 

Comments are closed.