Skip to content

In Whose Mouth Are No Arguments

July 17, 2014

.

Post 2012 09 30 IMG_1407

In Whose Mouth  Are No Arguments

What can we say?     We have no honest argument  or valid claim.     Without a doubt,  we are sinners.     If we say  we are not sinners,  we are liars  and lying  is a sin.     With that,  we condemn ourselves.

King David fully  realized his sins.     In Psalm 38,  David confesses  his sinful nature  and asks  for God’s mercy.     He full well knows  he deserves a wrathful judgment,  but he asks the LORD  to rebuke him  without being wrathful  beyond his ability  to bear it.     In other words,  David asked  for God’s mercy.     David knew  God was aware  of absolutely everything  in his heart  and mind.     God was aware  that David  greatly desired  to be good  and righteous,  but David  was still guilty  of sin.

Acts 13:22  explains God’s approval  of King David  by summarizing  some Old Testament verses,  so God was saying,

I have found David,  the son of Jesse,  a man after My heart,  who will do  all My will.

King David was a replacement  of King Saul,  whose heart  became devious  and spiteful.     So,  even though  both David and Saul  were sinners  —  just like all  of us  —  David had  a truthful heart  that confessed  his sins.     Saul had a heart  that always tried  to cover up  his sinfulness  and did not trust in the LORD’s love  and mercy.     Big difference.

When King David sinned,  everybody  in Israel knew  about it.     Some loved  to attack David  in his weaknesses.     But,  David always turned  to the LORD.     In his turning  to the LORD,  David wrote  about his threatening,  spiteful enemies  in Psalm 38:13-18,

But I,  like a deaf man,  do not hear;
And  I am like  a mute man  who does not  open his mouth.
Yes,  I am like a man  who does not hear,
And  in whose mouth  are no arguments.
For  I hope  in You,  O LORD;
You  will answer,  O Lord  my God.
For  I said,  ‘May they  not rejoice  over me,
Who,  when my foot slips,  would magnify themselves  against me.’
For  I am ready  to fall,
And my sorrow  is continually  before me.
For  I confess  my iniquity;
I am full  of anxiety  because of my sin.

David refused  to become downhearted  because of the attacks  of his accusers,  who were also sinners.     Much rather,  in truth  and true repentance,  he turned  to the LORD’s mercy.

People may accuse  any and all  of God’s children,  but the accusers  are also sinners.     The only recourse  for any  of God’s children  is our heavenly Father’s mercy  and forgiveness.     We cannot deny  any of our sins.     But,  with faith,  hope,  and love,  we can  and should  always turn  to the LORD  for the forgiveness  we need  for Jesus’ sake.

In the forgiveness  we receive  through the sacrificial love  of Christ Jesus,  we say,  “Hallelujah!     LORD,  thank You  for Your mercy  and love.”

Love,
Margaret

.

A Christian devotional  to glorify  the LORD of lords  and GOD of gods.

A 2.67 year old says  I Pledge Allegiance

Pray for our country.

.

Handel’s Hallelujah Chorus

**************

Handel’s Hallelujah Chorus by the Yupiq Eskimo village of Quinhagak, Alaska

.

.

.

The LORD  made this day, let us rejoice  and be glad  in Him.

Psalm 118:24

.

The word of the LORD is tried;

He is a shield  to all  who take refuge  in Him.

Psalm 18:30

.

Sing for joy  in the LORD,  O you righteous ones;

Praise is becoming  to the upright.

Psalm 33:1

.

How blessed are those  who dwell  in Thy house!

They are ever praising Thee.

Psalm 84:4

.

Just as a father  has compassion  on his children,

So the LORD  has compassion  on those who fear Him.

Psalm 103:13

.

O give thanks  to the LORD,  for He is good;

For His lovingkindness  is everlasting.

Psalm 107:1

.

Glory in His holy name;

Let the heart  of those who seek the LORD  be glad.

Psalm 105:3

.

**************

.

.

.

Not that I have already obtained it,  or have already  become perfect, but I press on  in order that  I may  lay hold  of that for which also  I was laid hold of  by Christ Jesus.

Philippians 3:12

.

.

.

…………

.

.

.

.

 

Comments are closed.