Skip to content

Sorry, I Never Knew You

August 24, 2014

.

Post 2014 08 24 Christ at the door 2

Sorry,  I Never  Knew You

There is an older, country gospel song  that The Browns have  in their 1967 album,  that is well worth keeping  in mind  —  especially since we daily face  so many  different worldly influences  that make our hearts grow cold.     When they sang,  “Sorry,  I Never Knew You”,  it was a take  on what Jesus said  in Matthew 7:21-23.     God’s will is that we believe  in Christ Jesus.

Not everyone  who says  to Me,  “Lord,  Lord,”  will enter the kingdom  of heaven,  but he who does the will  of My Father  who is in heaven  will enter.

Many will say  to Me  on that day,  “Lord,  Lord,  did we not prophesy  in Your name,  and in Your name  cast out demons,  and in Your name  perform many miracles?”

And then I will declare  to them,  “I never knew you;  depart from Me,  you  who practice lawlessness.”

Our so-called  “Christianity”  is totally worthless  if our hearts  and lives  do not live out  an honest faith.     Faith is not a show  of self-righteousness.     Faith fully depends  on Jesus’ sacrifice  for the forgiveness  of all our sins.     When we imagine  that our “good works”  are better  than Jesus’ suffering  and death,  we are practicing  “lawlessness”.      To practice God’s word rightly,  we must believe  in all He has done  for us  —  with no merit  on our part.

A YouTube of the Browns singing  “Sorry,  I Never  Knew You”  is at:

( For whatever reason, this won’t get embedded  for me,  so if you want  to listen  to The Browns, you will need  to copy/paste this into your browser.  )

The lyrics  to The Browns singing,  “Sorry,  I Never Knew You” might make one realize  that Jesus’ words pertain  to each and every one of us  —  not just to church leaders.

Sorry,  I never knew you,
Go and serve the one that you have served before.

“Last night  as I lay sleeping  a dream came to me.
I dreamed  about the end  of time,  about eternity.
I saw a million sinners fall  on their knees  to pray.
The Lord just sadly shook  His head  and this I heard Him say,
‘Sorry,  I never knew you,
Depart from Me  forevermore.
Sorry,  I never knew you.
Go and serve the one  that you have served before.’

“I thought  the time  had fully come  that I must stand the trial.
I told the Lord  that I had been a Christian  all the while.
But through His book  He took  a look  and sadly shook  His head,
Then placed me  over on His left  and this is what  He said:
‘Sorry,  I never knew you,
Go and serve the one  that you served down  on earth.’

“There were my wife  and children,  I heard  their loving voice.
They must have been so happy,  O how they did rejoice.
Their robes  of white around them,  their faces  all aglow.
My little girl  looked over at me  and this I heard her say:
‘Daddy,  we can’t go  with you,
We must dwell  in the joys  of our Lord.
Sorry,  for we still love you,
But you’ll never be our Daddy  anymore.’

“Now when I had awakened,  the tears  were  in my eyes.
And looking all around me,  and there  to my surprise
There were my loving babies,  I knew it was a dream.
Down beside that bed  of mine  you should have heard me scream:

“Father,  who art  in glory,
I know  You gave  Your only Son;
Father,  please forgive me,
For I want  to be ready  when You come!”

As we serve  our Lord  in an honest faith,  hope,  and love,  we say,  “Hallelujah!     LORD,  thank You  for atoning  for all our sins  in Christ Jesus.     May our lives honestly live  for You.”

Love,
Margaret

.

A Christian devotional  to glorify  the LORD of lords  and GOD of gods.

A 2.67 year old says  I Pledge Allegiance

Pray for our country.

.

Handel’s Hallelujah Chorus

**************

Handel’s Hallelujah Chorus by the Yupiq Eskimo village of Quinhagak, Alaska

.

.

.

The LORD  made this day, let us rejoice  and be glad  in Him.

Psalm 118:24

.

The word of the LORD is tried;

He is a shield  to all  who take refuge  in Him.

Psalm 18:30

.

Sing for joy  in the LORD,  O you righteous ones;

Praise is becoming  to the upright.

Psalm 33:1

.

How blessed are those  who dwell  in Thy house!

They are ever praising Thee.

Psalm 84:4

.

Just as a father  has compassion  on his children,

So the LORD  has compassion  on those who fear Him.

Psalm 103:13

.

O give thanks  to the LORD,  for He is good;

For His lovingkindness  is everlasting.

Psalm 107:1

.

Glory in His holy name;

Let the heart  of those who seek the LORD  be glad.

Psalm 105:3

.

**************

.

.

.

Not that I have already obtained it,  or have already  become perfect, but I press on  in order that  I may  lay hold  of that for which also  I was laid hold of  by Christ Jesus.

Philippians 3:12

.

.

.

…………

.

.

.

.

 

Comments are closed.