Skip to content

I Am Not Worthy

April 26, 2015

.

post_09_4_27_img_0138

I Am  Not Worthy

Matthew 8:5-13

And  when Jesus entered Capernaum,  a centurion came  to Him,  imploring Him,  and saying,  “Lord,  my servant  is lying paralyzed  at home,  fearfully tormented.”

Jesus said  to him,  “I will come  and heal him.”

But  the centurion said,  “Lord,  I am not worthy  for You  to come  under my roof,  but just say the word,  and my servant  will be healed.     For I also  am a man  under authority,  with soldiers  under me;  and I say  to this one,  ‘Go!’  and he goes,  and to another,  ‘Come!’  and he comes,  and to my slave,  ‘Do this!’  and he does it.”

Now when Jesus heard this,  He marveled  and said  to those  who were following,  “Truly  I say  to you,  I have not found  such great faith  with anyone  in Israel.     I say  to you  that many  will come  from east  and west,  and recline  at the table  with Abraham,  Isaac  and Jacob  in the kingdom  of heaven;  but the sons  of the kingdom  will be cast out  into the outer darkness;  in that place  there will be weeping  and gnashing  of teeth.”

And Jesus said  to the centurion,  “Go;  it shall  be done  for you  as you have believed.”     And the servant  was healed  that very moment.

This happening  teaches us  that we are  to know  that we are not “worthy”  either   —  and that Jesus  is God Almighty,  who dearly loves us,  and with whom  all things  are possible  and nothing impossible.     In spite  of our unworthiness,  we are  to believe  in Jesus’ ability  and His willingness  to hear  and answer  our prayers  according to His loving wisdom.     The centurion humbly knew  that the Master gives different orders  to each  of his servants  —  and that they are all  to be willingly  carried out.     However  Jesus answers us,  it will be  what is best  for us.

It does not matter  whether we have authority  over others  or not.     We are all unworthy  of having Jesus  under our roof.     Incredibly,  we can all  put our faith  in Jesus  and be saved  eternally.     In heaven,  all are healed  and there will be no more tears.

Rejoicing  in God’s  powerfully sustaining love,  we say,  “Hallelujah!     LORD,  we are glad  in Your almighty,  eternal love  that leads us  through this life  —  resting in Your will.”

Love,
Margaret

.

A Christian devotional  to glorify  the LORD of lords  and GOD of gods.

 

Pray for our country.

.

Handel’s Hallelujah Chorus

**************

.

The LORD  made this day, let us rejoice  and be glad  in Him.

Psalm 118:24

.

The word of the LORD is tried;

He is a shield  to all  who take refuge  in Him.

Psalm 18:30

.

Sing for joy  in the LORD,  O you righteous ones;

Praise is becoming  to the upright.

Psalm 33:1

.

How blessed are those  who dwell  in Thy house!

They are ever praising Thee.

Psalm 84:4

.

Just as a father  has compassion  on his children,

So the LORD  has compassion  on those who fear Him.

Psalm 103:13

.

O give thanks  to the LORD,  for He is good;

For His lovingkindness  is everlasting.

Psalm 107:1

.

Glory in His holy name;

Let the heart  of those who seek the LORD  be glad.

Psalm 105:3

.

**************

.

.

.

Not that I have already obtained it,  or have already  become perfect, but I press on  in order that  I may  lay hold  of that for which also  I was laid hold of  by Christ Jesus.

Philippians 3:12

.

.

.

 …………

.

.

.

.

 

Comments are closed.