Skip to content

Savior, Teach Me Day by Day

July 21, 2015

.

Post 2015 07 21 IMG_1450

Savior,  Teach Me  Day by Day

We are often called God’s children  throughout the Bible.     That reveals  the bottom line truth  of our being  —  no matter what our intelligence,  wealth,  or age  —  we are all  as children  all our lives.     So,  3 John 1:4  freely says,

I have no greater joy  than this,  to hear  of my children  walking  in the truth.

We walk  “in the truth”  when we live  according to  the love  God Almighty  has given us  in Christ Jesus.

As we live  in this world,  sin seems  to dominate.     We see corruption,  greed,   lusts,  selfishness,  hatred,  power grabs,  laziness,  lovelessness,  lies,  and everything  in between.     We all need  to keep on learning  God’s ways,  because  in the blink-of-an-eye,  we so easily forget  and fall  into sin  ourselves.

Because  we are so prone  to sin,  we need  to seriously think  on the words  of a children’s hymn  by Jane E. Leeson,  who lived  from 1807  to 1882.     It’s called  “Savior, Teach Me Day  by Day”.     Age does not matter  in this prayerful hymn.

Savior,  teach me day  by day
Love’s sweet lesson  to obey;
Sweeter lesson cannot be,
Loving Him  who first loved me.

With a childlike heart  of love
At Thy bidding  may I move;
Prompt  to serve  and follow Thee,
Loving Him  who first loved me.

Teach me all  Thy steps  to trace,
Strong  to follow  in Thy grace;
Learning how  to love  from Thee,
Loving Him  who first loved me.

Love  in loving  finds employ,
In obedience  all her joy;
Ever new  that joy  will be,
Loving Him  who first loved me.

Thus  may I rejoice  to show
That I feel  the love  I owe;
Singing till  Thy face I see,
Of His love  who first loved me.

All these verses simplify  teachings  in the Bible.     May we learn  to love  as God’s word  teaches us.

Glorifying  God’s love  for us,  we say,  “Hallelujah!     LORD,  Your sacrificial love  in Christ  is filled  with wonders.”

Love,
Margaret

.

A Christian devotional  to glorify  the LORD of lords  and GOD of gods.

 

Pray for our country.

.

Handel’s Hallelujah Chorus

**************

.

The LORD  made this day, let us rejoice  and be glad  in Him.

Psalm 118:24

.

The word of the LORD is tried;

He is a shield  to all  who take refuge  in Him.

Psalm 18:30

.

Sing for joy  in the LORD,  O you righteous ones;

Praise is becoming  to the upright.

Psalm 33:1

.

How blessed are those  who dwell  in Thy house!

They are ever praising Thee.

Psalm 84:4

.

Just as a father  has compassion  on his children,

So the LORD  has compassion  on those who fear Him.

Psalm 103:13

.

O give thanks  to the LORD,  for He is good;

For His lovingkindness  is everlasting.

Psalm 107:1

.

Glory in His holy name;

Let the heart  of those who seek the LORD  be glad.

Psalm 105:3

.

**************

.

.

.

Not that I have already obtained it,  or have already  become perfect, but I press on  in order that  I may  lay hold  of that for which also  I was laid hold of  by Christ Jesus.

Philippians 3:12

.

.

.

 …………

.

.

.

.

 

Comments are closed.