Skip to content

I Heard the Bells on Christmas Day

December 18, 2015

.

Post_10_01_01_IMG_0318

I Heard  the Bells  on Christmas Day

The famed poet Henry W. Longfellow  (1807 – 1882 )  wrote the song,  “I Heard  the Bells  on Christmas Day”.     The words he wrote seem  to fit  the feelings  of many Christians  these days  as they observe  acts of terrorism,  the hatred  of atheists trying to ruin  their joy,  political and economic stresses,  and all the other rampant sins  of this world.     Longfellow wrote,

I heard  the bells  on Christmas day
Their old familiar carols play,
And wild  and sweet  the words repeat
Of peace on earth,  good-will to men.

I thought how,  as the day  had come,
The belfries  of all Christendom
Had rolled along  th’unbroken song
Of peace  on earth,  good-will to men.

And  in despair  I bowed my head:
“There is no peace  on earth,”  I said,
“For hate is strong,  and mocks the song
Of peace on earth,  good-will  to men.”

Then pealed  the bells  more loud  and deep,
“God is not dead  nor doth  He sleep,
The wrong shall fail,  the right prevail,
With peace  on earth,  good-will  to men.”

Till ringing,  singing  on its way
The world revolved  from night  to day
A voice,  a chime,  a chant sublime
Of peace  on earth,  good-will  to men!

We have peace  in troubled times  because the truth is  that God is in control  of all things  at all times.     Therefore Jesus said  in John 14:27,

Peace  I leave  with you;  My peace  I give  to you;  not as the world gives  do I give  to you.     Do not let your heart  be troubled,  nor let it be fearful.

Knowing  God  is in control,  1 Thessalonians 5:23 blesses us  with,

Now may the God  of peace  Himself  sanctify you entirely;  and may your spirit  and soul  and body  be preserved complete,  without blame  at the coming  of our Lord Jesus Christ.

With a song  in our heart,  we say,  “Hallelujah!     Lord,  thank You  for preserving us  in Your truths  throughout this life.”

Love,
Margaret

.

A Christian devotional  to glorify  the LORD of lords  and GOD of gods.

Pray for our country.

.

Handel’s Hallelujah Chorus

**************

.

The LORD  made this day, let us rejoice  and be glad  in Him.

Psalm 118:24

.

The word of the LORD is tried;

He is a shield  to all  who take refuge  in Him.

Psalm 18:30

.

Sing for joy  in the LORD,  O you righteous ones;

Praise is becoming  to the upright.

Psalm 33:1

.

How blessed are those  who dwell  in Thy house!

They are ever praising Thee.

Psalm 84:4

.

Just as a father  has compassion  on his children,

So the LORD  has compassion  on those who fear Him.

Psalm 103:13

.

O give thanks  to the LORD,  for He is good;

For His lovingkindness  is everlasting.

Psalm 107:1

.

Glory in His holy name;

Let the heart  of those who seek the LORD  be glad.

Psalm 105:3

.

**************

.

Not that I have already obtained it,  or have already  become perfect, but I press on  in order that  I may  lay hold  of that for which also  I was laid hold of  by Christ Jesus.

Philippians 3:12

.

 …………

.

.

.

.

 

Comments are closed.