Skip to content

Give Me Understanding That I May Know Your Testimonies

February 22, 2016

.

Post 2015 05 20 IMG_2104

Give Me Understanding  That I May Know  Your Testimonies

There are many  who   “think”  they know God Almighty’s testimonies,  but what they “know”  is only their personal desired interpretation  of God’s word.     They will arrogantly dismiss much  of God’s word  as not pertaining  to them  —  or as old fashioned.     But,  the truth is,

Forever,  O LORD,
Your word  is settled  in heaven.     Psalm 119:89

Because God’s word  is eternal,  “forever”   “settled in heaven”,  we ought not  to be so arrogant  as to try  and change it.     God is God  —  not us.     So,  Psalm 119:121-128  guides us  as God’s children,

I have done justice  and righteousness;
Do not leave me  to my oppressors.      

Be surety  for Your Servant  for good;
Do not let  the arrogant   oppress me.         

My eyes fail  with longing  for Your salvation
And  for Your righteous word.         

Deal  with Your servant  according to  Your lovingkindness
And teach me  Your statutes.       

I am  Your servant;  give me understanding,
That I may know  Your testimonies.
        

It is time  for the LORD  to act,
For they  have broken  Your law.

Therefore  I love  Your commandments
Above gold,  yes,  above fine gold.         

Therefore  I esteem right  all Your precepts  concerning everything,
I hate  every false way.

All  of God’s children  truly want  to know  His ways  and follow  His ways.     No child  of God wants  “oppressors”   or  the “arrogant”  to drag them down  into any sort  of sin.     As we long  for only God’s  “salvation”  we want God  to teach us  His  “righteous word”,  so that we will live  rightly.     Being wrong brings us shame.

So,  we want  “the LORD  to act”  in our defense  and to strengthen us  in His righteousness.     We don’t want  worldly ideals  to tear us down.

Trusting His righteousness,  we say,  “Hallelujah!     LORD,  thank You  for guiding us  in the surety  of Your righteousness.”

Love,
Margaret

.

A Christian devotional  to glorify  the LORD of lords  and GOD of gods.

Pray for our country.

.

Handel’s Hallelujah Chorus

**************

.

The LORD  made this day, let us rejoice  and be glad  in Him.

Psalm 118:24

.

The word of the LORD is tried;

He is a shield  to all  who take refuge  in Him.

Psalm 18:30

.

Sing for joy  in the LORD,  O you righteous ones;

Praise is becoming  to the upright.

Psalm 33:1

.

How blessed are those  who dwell  in Thy house!

They are ever praising Thee.

Psalm 84:4

.

Just as a father  has compassion  on his children,

So the LORD  has compassion  on those who fear Him.

Psalm 103:13

.

O give thanks  to the LORD,  for He is good;

For His lovingkindness  is everlasting.

Psalm 107:1

.

Glory in His holy name;

Let the heart  of those who seek the LORD  be glad.

Psalm 105:3

.

**************

.

Not that I have already obtained it,  or have already  become perfect, but I press on  in order that  I may  lay hold  of that for which also  I was laid hold of  by Christ Jesus.

Philippians 3:12

.

 …………

.

.

.

.

 

Comments are closed.