Skip to content

I Hope

April 18, 2016

.

Post 2012 05 14 IMG_1212

I  Hope

Most everyone has times  when everything seems  to go  from bad  to worse.     Things can get  so bad  that one feels numb  to all  that is going on.     We have no control  over anything  that is happening  in this world.     The people around us  don’t seem  to care,  so we feel hated.     We’re so devastated  that even our health  is greatly affected.     King David  experienced  the same things.     He wrote  in Psalm 38:14-20,

Yes,  I am  like a man  who does not hear,
And in whose mouth  are no arguments.
For  I hope  in You,  O LORD;
You will answer,  O Lord  my God.

For  I said,  “May they  not rejoice  over me,
Who,  when my foot slips,  would magnify themselves  against me.”
For  I am ready  to fall,
And my sorrow  is continually  before me.

For  I confess  my iniquity;
I am full  of anxiety  because of my sin.
But  my enemies  are vigorous  and strong,
And many  are those  who hate me  wrongfully.
And those  who repay  evil  for good,
They  oppose me,  because  I follow  what is good.

Even though King David feels numb  and helpless  in all his troubles,  he still confidently says,  I hope  in You,  O LORD”.     No matter how bad things might get,  David knew  that the LORD  was his only “hope”,  because  the LORD  has declared  His love  —  and the LORD is almighty.

But,  in the same breath,  David groans,  “I am  full  of anxiety  because  of my sin”.     David is filled with “hope”  and “anxiety”  at the same time.     We can see  the same things  in our troubles.     Our sins make us anxious  —  but we “hope”  in the LORD,  because we know  that He is loving,  merciful,  and faithful.

It is a deep reverence  for our LORD’s authority  and power.     We know  we don’t deserve His loving grace  —  but,  we know  He has promised it  and has been proven  to be faithful  and true.

Rejoicing  in God’s merciful love  and faithfulness,  we say,  “Hallelujah!     LORD,  thank You  for saving us  in every situation.”

Love,
Margaret

.

A Christian devotional  to glorify  the LORD of lords  and GOD of gods.

Pray for our country.

.

Handel’s Hallelujah Chorus

**************

.

The LORD  made this day, let us rejoice  and be glad  in Him.

Psalm 118:24

.

The word of the LORD is tried;

He is a shield  to all  who take refuge  in Him.

Psalm 18:30

.

Sing for joy  in the LORD,  O you righteous ones;

Praise is becoming  to the upright.

Psalm 33:1

.

How blessed are those  who dwell  in Thy house!

They are ever praising Thee.

Psalm 84:4

.

Just as a father  has compassion  on his children,

So the LORD  has compassion  on those who fear Him.

Psalm 103:13

.

O give thanks  to the LORD,  for He is good;

For His lovingkindness  is everlasting.

Psalm 107:1

.

Glory in His holy name;

Let the heart  of those who seek the LORD  be glad.

Psalm 105:3

.

**************

.

Not that I have already obtained it,  or have already  become perfect, but I press on  in order that  I may  lay hold  of that for which also  I was laid hold of  by Christ Jesus.

Philippians 3:12

.

 …………

.

.

.

.

 

Comments are closed.