Skip to content

How Long Will You Love What Is Worthless?

August 5, 2016

.

Post 2014 02 13 IMG_1481

How Long  Will You  Love What Is Worthless?

King David  was an Old Testament king of Israel,  but even way back  in his day,  evil people were maliciously working  to tear down  what God had established.     One can compare David’s lament  to what God’s children  of today  are concerned with.     Line by line,  think about everything David says  in Psalm 4,  and see  how it is like  a Christian’s concerns  today.     Psalm 4 reads,

Answer me  when I call,  O God  of my righteousness!
You have relieved me  in my distress;
Be gracious  to me  and hear  my prayer. 

O sons  of men,  how long  will my honor  become a reproach?
How long  will you  love what is worthless  and aim  at deception?     Selah. 

But know  that the LORD  has set apart  the godly man  for Himself;
The LORD hears  when  I call  to Him.  

Tremble,  and do not sin;
Meditate  in your heart  upon your bed,  and be still.     Selah.    

Offer the sacrifices  of righteousness,
And trust  in the LORD.   

Many are saying,  “Who will show us  any good?”
Lift up  the light  of Your countenance  upon us,  O LORD!  

You have put gladness  in my heart,
More than when  their grain  and new wine abound.  

In peace  I will both lie down  and sleep,
For You alone,  O LORD,  make me  to dwell  in safety.

These days,  many  love what is worthless  and aim  at deception”.     It’s disheartening  to God’s children.     We see it in politics,  the work place,  the educational system,  and even in  social media.     The bottom line is  that when we read God’s word  and trust God’s “righteousness”,  we will thank our LORD,  who is  in control.     No matter what happens,  God’s true children  are safe  in His hands.

In trust,  we say,  “Hallelujah!     LORD,  thank You  for promising  to always be  with us  —  without fail.”

Love,
Margaret

.

A Christian devotional  to glorify  the LORD of lords  and GOD of gods.

Pray for our country.

.

Handel’s Hallelujah Chorus

**************

.

The LORD  made this day, let us rejoice  and be glad  in Him.

Psalm 118:24

.

The word of the LORD is tried;

He is a shield  to all  who take refuge  in Him.

Psalm 18:30

.

Sing for joy  in the LORD,  O you righteous ones;

Praise is becoming  to the upright.

Psalm 33:1

.

How blessed are those  who dwell  in Thy house!

They are ever praising Thee.

Psalm 84:4

.

Just as a father  has compassion  on his children,

So the LORD  has compassion  on those who fear Him.

Psalm 103:13

.

O give thanks  to the LORD,  for He is good;

For His lovingkindness  is everlasting.

Psalm 107:1

.

Glory in His holy name;

Let the heart  of those who seek the LORD  be glad.

Psalm 105:3

.

**************

.

Not that I have already obtained it,  or have already  become perfect,   but I press on  in order that  I may  lay hold  of that  for which also  I was laid hold of  by Christ Jesus.

Philippians 3:12

.

 …………

.

.

.

.

 

Comments are closed.