Skip to content

In God, Whose Word I Praise

November 7, 2016

.

2016-09-09-kayleens-lily-20130728_180632

In God Whose Word I Praise

Since the beginning  of time  God’s children  have been totally overwhelmed  with all sorts  of problems.     It was always way over  what any human being  could handle.     We don’t have the ability  or power  to handle any  of the horrible onslaughts  of evil  in this world.

Trying to do something  by our own puny power  is useless  and self-defeating.     There is no way  a person  can defeat all  of the evils  in this world.     But,  God can and will.     That is why,  when David was captured  by the Philistines in Gath,  he put his whole faith  in God  and later wrote Psalm 56.     In verses 3-7,  he wrote,

In God,  whose word  I praise,
In God  I have put  my trust;
I shall not  be afraid.
What can mere man do  to me?  

All day long  they distort  my words;
All their thoughts  are against me  for evil. 

They attack,  they lurk,
They watch my steps,
As they have waited  to take my life. 

Because  of wickedness,  cast them forth,
In anger  put down the peoples,  O God!

We also  need to totally “trust”  in God.     David was not afraid  of “mere man”  in this world,   because  they might be able  to kill his body,  but they could never harm  his soul,  which is in  God’s care.     The unbelievers  were able  to “distort”  David’s words,  and always think “evil” against him.    They watched to “attack”  and take his “life”.

David realized  that he was not able  to defeat all this  by himself.     So, David turned  to God  in praise  and sang  in verses 10-11,

In God,  whose word  I praise,
In the LORD,  whose word  I praise,
In God  I have put my trust,
I shall not be afraid.
What can man do  to me?

We should not lose our faith  in God  and imagine  that we must take care  of all this world’s problems  by ourselves.     God wants us  to learn  to trust Him  and praise Him.

Trusting,  we say,  “Hallelujah!     LORD,  all things  are in Your control.     Secure our faith.”

Love,
Margaret

.

A Christian devotional  to glorify  the LORD of lords  and GOD of gods.

Pray for our country.

.

Handel’s Hallelujah Chorus

**************

.

The LORD  made this day, let us rejoice  and be glad  in Him.

Psalm 118:24

.

The word of the LORD is tried;

He is a shield  to all  who take refuge  in Him.

Psalm 18:30

.

Sing for joy  in the LORD,  O you righteous ones;

Praise is becoming  to the upright.

Psalm 33:1

.

How blessed are those  who dwell  in Thy house!

They are ever praising Thee.

Psalm 84:4

.

Just as a father  has compassion  on his children,

So the LORD  has compassion  on those who fear Him.

Psalm 103:13

.

O give thanks  to the LORD,  for He is good;

For His lovingkindness  is everlasting.

Psalm 107:1

.

Glory in His holy name;

Let the heart  of those who seek the LORD  be glad.

Psalm 105:3

.

**************

.

Not that I have already obtained it,  or have already  become perfect,   but I press on  in order that  I may  lay hold  of that  for which also  I was laid hold of  by Christ Jesus.

Philippians 3:12

.

 …………

.

.

.

.

 

Comments are closed.