Skip to content

From My Mother’s Womb

January 23, 2017

.

Post 2015 07 25 IMG_1010

From My Mother’s Womb

Everyone has a different life  with different challenges,  different trials,  different influences…….        And yet,  there is a certainty.     We will all face challenges,  trials,  and influences.     They are necessary  in building a true faith.

Faith is not faith  unless it is proven.

For many,  the road of life  is lonely,  discouraging,  seemingly hopeless,  and pointless.     They lose sight  of their youthful inclinations  to be God-pleasing.     As they see the “world” seeming  to have success,  riches,  “good times”,  and satisfactions  in life,  they don’t want  to miss out  on the “good life”,  and begin  to live  like the “world”  they used to disapprove of.

Moral ideals  go down the tube.     The definition  of “love”  becomes a self-centered desire  to fulfill one’s self.     One gets the feeling  that God just does not care  and if He did,  He would “surely”  do something  about these needs.

There was an old man  who wrote Psalm 71  to describe his reflections  on all that had happened  to him  in life.      No matter how old  or young  we are,  we should all apply the truths  of his Psalm  to our lives.     This old man  had had a rough life,  facing all sorts  of troubles,  but,  in looking back  on all his experiences,  he could see  that God helped him  to be true,  when he let God lead him.

Here are a few excerpts  from Psalm 71  to consider.

In You,  O LORD,  I have taken refuge;
Let me never  be ashamed.     verse 1

In Your righteousness  deliver me  and rescue me;
Incline Your ear  to me  and save me.     verse 2

For You  are my hope;
O Lord GOD,  You are my confidence  from my youth.     verse 5

By You  I have been sustained  from my birth;
You are He  who took me  from my mother’s womb;
My praise  is continually  of You.     verse 6

My mouth shall tell  of Your righteousness
And  of Your salvation  all day long;
For I do not know  the sum  of them.     verse 15

O God,  You have taught me  from my youth,
And I still declare  Your wondrous deeds.     verse 17

And even when  I am old and gray,  O God,  do not forsake me,
Until I declare  Your strength  to this generation,
Your power  to all  who are  to come.     verse 18

For Your righteousness,  O God,  reaches to the heavens,
You who have done  great things;
O God,   who is like You?         verse 19

You  who have shown me  many troubles  and distresses
Will revive me  again,
And will  bring me up again  from the depths  of the earth.     verse 20

This old man realized something  we all need  to hold onto.     We will surely  have troubles  that we absolutely cannot overcome  all by ourselves.     But,  if we lean  on our LORD,  He will bring us out  of all  of them  in the end.

As we look back  on our lives,  and think about it,  we can also see  how God has done  “wondrous deeds”  for us.     God’s righteousness  does bring us  through our troubles  (as verse 19 says),  and there is no one else  like the Lord God Almighty.

No matter what sort  of trial  God lets us have,  as we stay true  to Him,  He will revive us again  -—  just as He did  for the psalmist.

Let us also lean  on our Creator  as He leads us  through trials.     Then,  in the end,  we will surely say  with the psalmist,  ”Hallelujah!      God carried me  through it all!”

Love,
Margaret

.

A Christian devotional  to glorify  the LORD of lords  and GOD of gods.

Pray for our country.

.

Handel’s Hallelujah Chorus

**************

.

The LORD  made this day, let us rejoice  and be glad  in Him.

Psalm 118:24

.

The word of the LORD is tried;

He is a shield  to all  who take refuge  in Him.

Psalm 18:30

.

Sing for joy  in the LORD,  O you righteous ones;

Praise is becoming  to the upright.

Psalm 33:1

.

How blessed are those  who dwell  in Thy house!

They are ever praising Thee.

Psalm 84:4

.

Just as a father  has compassion  on his children,

So the LORD  has compassion  on those who fear Him.

Psalm 103:13

.

O give thanks  to the LORD,  for He is good;

For His lovingkindness  is everlasting.

Psalm 107:1

.

Glory in His holy name;

Let the heart  of those who seek the LORD  be glad.

Psalm 105:3

.

**************

.

Not that I have already obtained it,  or have already  become perfect,   but I press on  in order that  I may  lay hold  of that  for which also  I was laid hold of  by Christ Jesus.

Philippians 3:12

.

 …………

.

.

.

.

 

Comments are closed.