Skip to content

I Was Like a Beast Before You

September 18, 2017

.

I Was Like a Beast Before You

Sometimes  life just does not seem fair.     The crooks  get away  with everything.     The liars  are believed  as they arrogantly smirk.     The dishonest rich  get richer  and the poor get poorer.

We can get to feeling  so dumb  for hanging onto our faith,  because we seem  to have more problems  than blessings.

None of this is new  in the world.     Way back in the days  of King David  and Solomon,  a leader  of the temple choir,  Asaph,  wrote a psalm  about his feelings  regarding this seeming unfairness.

Compare what Asaph said  years ago  in Psalm 73  to what life sometimes seems like  today.     When Asaph says  he feels  like a beast  before the Lord,  he means  he feels dumb  and helpless  —  like cattle  or sheep  —  with no say  in the matter.     That’s how a child  of God  might feel  at times.

Psalm 73

Surely God is good  to Israel,
To those  who are pure  in heart!

But as for me,  my feet came close  to stumbling,
My steps  had almost slipped.

For I was envious  of the arrogant
As I saw the prosperity  of the wicked.

For there are no pains  in their death,
And their body  is fat.
They are not in trouble  as other men,
Nor are they plagued  like mankind.

Therefore  pride is their necklace;
The garment  of violence  covers them.
Their eye bulges  from fatness;
The imaginations  of their heart  run riot.

They mock  and wickedly speak  of oppression;
They speak  from on high.
They have set their mouth  against the heavens,
And their tongue parades  through the earth.

Therefore his people return  to this place,
And waters  of abundance are drunk  by them.

They say,  “How does God know?
And is there knowledge  with the Most High?”

Behold,  these are the wicked;
And always at ease,  they have increased  in wealth.

Surely in vain  I have kept my heart pure
And washed my hands  in innocence;
For I have been stricken  all day long
And chastened  every morning.

If I had said,  “I will speak thus,”
Behold,  I would have betrayed the generation  of Your children.

When I pondered  to understand this,
It was troublesome  in my sight
Until I came  into the sanctuary  of God;
Then I perceived  their end.

Surely  You set them  in slippery places;
You cast them down  to destruction.
How they are destroyed  in a moment!
They are utterly swept away  by sudden terrors!

Like a dream  when one awakes,
O Lord,  when aroused,  You will despise  their form.
When my heart was embittered
And I was pierced within,
Then  I was senseless  and ignorant;
I was  like a beast  before You.

Nevertheless  I am continually  with You;
You have taken hold  of my right hand.
With Your counsel  You will guide me,
And afterward  receive me  to glory.

Whom have I in heaven  but You?
And besides You,  I desire nothing  on earth.
My flesh  and my heart  may fail,
But God  is the strength  of my heart  and my portion forever.

For,  behold,  those who are far  from You  will perish;
You have destroyed  all those  who are unfaithful  to You.

But as for me,  the nearness of God  is my good;
I have made  the Lord GOD  my refuge,
That I may tell  of all Your works.

With Asaph,  we need  to always remember  the great love  of God Almighty  for us.     What we experience  in this world  is only a testing ground  for our faith  in our Savior’s love  and eternal salvation.     The wicked will remain clueless  until their judgment day,  so they will end up  with nothing  but torment  for their faithless ways.

But,  in our anxiety,  do we remember the love  given to us  on the cross?     That is worth more  than anything  in this world.     Don’t give it up  for whatever fleeting pleasures  this world might try  to con us with.

Let us not “slip”  as Asaph said he “almost slipped.”

When we steady ourselves  and focus  on the truths  of God’s love,  we will say,  “Hallelujah!     Thank you LORD  for keeping us  near You  because we are simple  and so in need  of your guidance.     Thank You  for faithfully leading us  to eternal life.”

Love,
Margaret

.

A Christian devotional  to glorify  the LORD of lords  and GOD of gods.

Pray for our country.

**************

.

The LORD  made this day, let us rejoice  and be glad  in Him.

Psalm 118:24

.

The word of the LORD is tried;

He is a shield  to all  who take refuge  in Him.

Psalm 18:30

.

Sing for joy  in the LORD,  O you righteous ones;

Praise is becoming  to the upright.

Psalm 33:1

.

How blessed are those  who dwell  in Thy house!

They are ever praising Thee.

Psalm 84:4

.

Just as a father  has compassion  on his children,

So the LORD  has compassion  on those who fear Him.

Psalm 103:13

.

O give thanks  to the LORD,  for He is good;

For His lovingkindness  is everlasting.

Psalm 107:1

.

Glory in His holy name;

Let the heart  of those who seek the LORD  be glad.

Psalm 105:3

.

**************

.

Not that I have already obtained it,  or have already  become perfect,   but I press on  in order that  I may  lay hold  of that  for which also  I was laid hold of  by Christ Jesus.

Philippians 3:12

.

 …………

.

.

.

.

 

Comments are closed.