Skip to content

Through Him Who Strengthens Me

April 30, 2012

Through Him  Who Strengthens Me

Things looked impossible  for the apostle Paul.     As he sat  in his prison cell,  his friends told him  about various problems  within the church at Philippi.     There were false preachers causing doctrinal problems.     Some within the church  were having heated disagreements.     Paul was facing  a possible death sentence,  for preaching the gospel.     Others  were awfully distressed  about the trials  they were facing,  just for being a Christian.

Paul did not let all  of these problems  overwhelm him.     He was content  knowing that his life  was in God’s hands,  and that the Lord  would bring him through it  in a way  that would be best for him.     Somehow or another God would use  all these troubles  to grant Paul the grace  of growing in faith,  hope,  and love.     Knowing that he was safe  in God’s hands,  whether in life  or in death,  Paul rested in God’s eternal love.     He knew  that God would give him  the strength to do  whatever needed  to be done  at the moment.

So,  in spite of all sorts of  “stuff”  going on around him,  Paul wrote in Philippians 4:13,

I can do  all things  through Him  who strengthens me.

And,  so can we.     God is in control.     We can be confident of that.     God will use  the barrage  of our troubles  to mold us  with the truths  of His word.     We will learn  to grow in faith  and to realize  the awesome depths  of God’s love for us.

An unknown Confederate soldier is said  to have written some lines  that express this confidence  in our Savior  who strengthens me    He wrote,

I asked God  for strength,  that I might achieve…
I was made weak,  that I might learn  to obey…
I asked for health,  that I might do great things…
I was given infirmity,  that I might do better things…
I asked for riches,  that I might  be happy…
I was given poverty,  that I might  be wise…
I asked  for power,  that I might  have the praise  of men…
I was given weakness,  that I might feel  the need of God…
I asked for all things,  that I might enjoy life…
I was given life,  that I might  enjoy all things.
I got nothing  that I asked for,  but everything  I hoped for.
Almost  despite myself,  my unspoken prayers  were answered.
I am among all men,  most richly blessed!

We are most richly blessed  just because God cares  so much for us  that He gives us  what we need,  more than  what we think we need.     We don’t know  how to pray,  but can rejoice  because Romans 8:26 says,

The Spirit also helps our weakness;  for we do not know  how to pray  as we should,  but the Spirit Himself intercedes  for us  with groanings  too deep for words.

Our prayers will be answered  with blessings we could not have imagined  because God truly loves His dear children through Christ Jesus.    With humble trust we say,  “Hallelujah!     Lord,  thank You  for strengthening us  and forming us  to live  to Your glory.”

Love,
Margaret

.

Handel’s Hallelujah Chorus by the Yupiq Eskimo village of Quinhagak, Alaska

.

Handel’s Hallelujah Chorus

A Christian devotional to glorify the LORD of lords and GOD of gods

Pray for our country

**************

.

.

.

The LORD made this day, let us rejoice and be glad in Him.

Psalm 118:24

.

The word of the LORD is tried;

He is a shield to all who take refuge in Him.

Psalm 18:30

.

Sing for joy  in the LORD,  O you righteous ones;

Praise is becoming  to the upright.

Psalm 33:1

.

How blessed are those  who dwell  in Thy house!

They are ever praising Thee.

Psalm 84:4

.

Just as a father  has compassion  on his children,

So the LORD  has compassion  on those who fear Him.

Psalm 103:13

.

O give thanks  to the LORD,  for He is good;

For His lovingkindness  is everlasting.

Psalm 107:1

.

Glory in His holy name;

Let the heart  of those who seek the LORD  be glad.

Psalm 105:3

.

**************

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Not that I have already obtained it,  or have already  become perfect,  but I press on  in order that  I may  lay hold  of that for which also  I was laid hold of  by Christ Jesus.

Philippians 3:12

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

…………

.

.

.

.

Comments are closed.