Skip to content

Like a Lost Sheep

February 12, 2017

.

hpim1344

Like a Lost Sheep

God’s word often refers  to His people as  “sheep”.     What a true likeness!     We so easily wander away  from what is best for us  —  and actually  from what we like.     When we get lost  in our troubles,  and stray  from God’s word,  we’re in desperate need  of our Savior.     Truthfully,  He is the only one  who can honestly help us  in the way  we need help.

We are  just like the writer  of Psalm 119:171-176,  where he says,

Let  my lips utter praise,
For  You teach me  Your statutes. 

Let  my tongue sing  of Your word,
For  all Your commandments  are righteousness. 

Let  Your hand be ready  to help me,
For  I have chosen  Your precepts.  

I long  for Your salvation,  O LORD,
And Your law  is my delight. 

Let  my soul live  that it may praise You,
And let  Your ordinances  help me. 

I have gone astray  like a lost sheep;  seek Your servant,
For  I do not forget  Your commandments.

Here,  he does “praise”  and “sing”  to God.     He knows God is truly righteous  and “ready to help”.     He actually chooses God’s “precepts”  and “commandments”  because he loves them  and longs  for God’s  “salvation”.     In spite  of all  his love  for the goodness  of God’s ways,  he has to confess  that he has  “gone astray  like a lost sheep.

He needs God  to find him  and help him,  because he just cannot “forget”  God’s  “commandments”  —  the good  and right ways  of our LORD.     And,  God is willing,  for Jesus says,

I am  the good shepherd;  the good shepherd  lays down His life  for the sheep.     John 10:11

and

I am  the good shepherd,  and I know  My own  and My own  know Me.     John 10:14

We have a lot  to be thankful for,  so we say,  “Hallelujah!     LORD,  thank You  for Your faithful and loving care.”

Love,
Margaret

.

A Christian devotional  to glorify  the LORD of lords  and GOD of gods.

Pray for our country.

.

Handel’s Hallelujah Chorus

**************

.

The LORD  made this day, let us rejoice  and be glad  in Him.

Psalm 118:24

.

The word of the LORD is tried;

He is a shield  to all  who take refuge  in Him.

Psalm 18:30

.

Sing for joy  in the LORD,  O you righteous ones;

Praise is becoming  to the upright.

Psalm 33:1

.

How blessed are those  who dwell  in Thy house!

They are ever praising Thee.

Psalm 84:4

.

Just as a father  has compassion  on his children,

So the LORD  has compassion  on those who fear Him.

Psalm 103:13

.

O give thanks  to the LORD,  for He is good;

For His lovingkindness  is everlasting.

Psalm 107:1

.

Glory in His holy name;

Let the heart  of those who seek the LORD  be glad.

Psalm 105:3

.

**************

.

Not that I have already obtained it,  or have already  become perfect,   but I press on  in order that  I may  lay hold  of that  for which also  I was laid hold of  by Christ Jesus.

Philippians 3:12

.

 …………

.

.

.

.

 

Comments are closed.